Passing through Ibri

During the twenty four hour journey to Cambodia, I had a lot of free time to think about the adventure ahead. Naturally, I also reflected on previous explorations. I thought I would share some of those memories.

First in the series: our trips in and around Ibri. My husband and I spent a year teaching at a college in Oman. We stayed in a village called Ibri, which we were told translates as “passing through”.

Wadi Dhum

Our first big outing in Ibri was to the nearby wadi. We went with a few of the lecturers from college. I had just hurt my back so I stayed behind with my office mate Maria, our friend Ashok, and the kids, while the rest hiked a bit further to jump off the wadi walls into the water.

05

The walls were so barren compared to the clear water.

06
07

I rested my injured back

08

while the others hiked on and jumped into the clear water

09

from way up here.

10

A smorgasbord of delicious food,

11

and relaxing in the shade, was the perfect way to end the day.

12

The amazing Ashok painted this while we rested in the shade.

13

Mud Village

14

The old village with the new in the distance.

15

They all have these beautiful doors.

16

They used to live here before oil money

17

changed their way of life forever.

18

Some people brave the heat to play on a dusty field.

19

Still too hot for me to exercise outside…

20

Camel tax for making it this far.

21

Photos by Rheedan

Leave a Reply

